Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Lawrence County Deaths 2002

Deaths in Eastern Kentucky
as reported in the Floyd County Times Dated

December 23, 2002

Beatrice Mae Branham, 80, Lawrence County native, died Tuesday, December 10, at Highland Regional Medical Center. Funeral services were conducted Friday, December 13, under the direction of Phelps & Son Funeral Home.

December 16, 2002

Talva Cooper Scultz, 83, of Webbville, died Tuesday, December 3, at her home. Funeral services were conducted Friday, December 6, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

November 18, 2002

Ernest “Bus” Webb, 88, of Fort Gay, West Virginia, died Sunday, November 10, at St. Mary’s Hospital in Huntington, West Virginia. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, November 13, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

November 11, 2002

Kaden Ray Turner, 20, of Blaine, died Sunday, October 27, at Blaine. Funeral services were conducted Thursday, October 31, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

October 21, 2002

Willie Perkins, 74, of Ulysses, died Wednesday, October 9, at King’s Daughters’ Medical Center in Ashland. He is survived by his wife, Christine Webb Perkins. Funeral services were conducted Thursday, October 11, under the direction of Inez Funeral Chapel.

October 7, 2002

Fredrick Donald Collins Jr., 70, of Louisa, died Thursday, September 26. He is survived by his wife, Eleanor Collins. Graveside funeral services were conducted Sunday, September 29, at Kirk Cemetery, Louisa, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Lou Moore Thompson, 91, died Tuesday, September 24, in Mount Vernon, Ohio. Funeral services were conducted Friday, September 27, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

September 16, 2002

Timothy Charles Cantrell, 34, of Louisa, died Sunday, September 8, at Louisa. He is survived by his wife, Sandy Pikington Cantrell. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, September 11, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Don Chaffin, 71, of Louisa, died Monday, September 2, at King’s Daughters’ Medical Center in Ashland. A Masonic service was conducted Thursday, September 5. Funeral services were conducted Friday, September 6, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Blanche H. Davis, 82, of Louisa, died Sunday, September 8. She is survived by her husband, James E. Davis. Funeral services were conducted Tuesday, September 10, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

William H. (Pete) Isaac, died Saturday, August 31, at King’s Daughters’ Medical Center. He is survived by his wife, Geneva Jones Isaac. Funeral services were conducted Tuesday, September 3, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Sunie Fannin Williamson Johnson, 94, native of Lawrence County, died Friday, August 30, at Highlands Regional Medical Center. Funeral services were conducted Monday, September 2, under the direction of Phelps & Son Funeral Home.

James Marcum, 85, of Louisa, died Thursday, September 5, at J.J. Jordan Geriatric Center, Louisa. He is survived by his wife, Imogene C. Marcum. Funeral services were conducted Sunday, September 8, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

September 2, 2002

Jack Hammond, 69, of Louisa, died Tuesday, August 20, at his home. Funeral services were conducted Friday, August 23, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Elzie Napier, 93, of Fort Gay, West Virginia, died Wednesday, August 21, at J.J. Jordan Geriatric Center, Louisa. Funeral services were conducted Friday, August 23, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

August 19, 2002

Helen Ruth Dulin, 83, of Blaine, died Wednesday, August 7, at Blaine. Graveside funeral services were conducted Friday, August 9, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Martha Sue Rose Green, 71, of Fort Gay, West Virginia, died Thursday, August 8, at Three Rivers Medical Center, Louisa. Funeral services were conducted Sunday, August 11, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

August 12, 2002

Lucian Ball, 88, of Somerset, formerly of Louisa, died Saturday, August 3, in Cincinnati, Ohio. He is survived by his wife, Julina Moore Ball. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, August 7, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Grettie Barker Maxie, 89, of Martha, died Saturday, August 3, at Kingsbrook Lifecare Center, Ashland. Funeral services were conducted Tuesday, August 6, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Girish Patel, 59, of Louisa, died Monday, July 29, in Prestonsburg. He is survived by his wife, Urmila Patel. Prayer service was held Wednesday, July 31, and Thursday, August 1. Arrangements were under the direction of Heston Funeral Home.

July 29, 2002

Ruth Frazier, 83, native of Lawrence County, died Tuesday, July 16, at King’s Daughters’ Medical Center. Funeral services were conducted Friday, July 19, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Homer D. Moore, 62, died Monday, June 5, at his residence. Funeral services were conducted Thursday, July 18, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

James Howard Burton, 71, of Louisa, died Thursday, July 18, at his home. Funeral services were conducted Sunday, July 21, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Bonnie Jean Lewis Plegge, formerly of Boons Camp, died Tuesday, July 9, at her residence in Radcliff. She is survived by her husband, Col. John Plegge. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, July 13, under the direction of Nelson-Edelen-Bennett Funeral Home.

July 22, 2002

Barbara Ann Shortridge Collins, 67, of Fallsberg, died Sunday, July 14, at Three Rivers Medical Center. She is survived by her husband, Kermit Collins Sr. Graveside services were conducted Tuesday, July 16, 2 p.m., at Collins Cemetery, Fallsburg.  Arrangements were under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home, Louisa.

Sheila Vance Mumford Moore, 75, of Louisa, died Thursday, July 11, at Three Rivers Medical Center in Louisa. Funeral services were conducted Sunday, July 14, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

July 15, 2002

Everett Preston, 72, of Louisa, died Thursday, July 4, at Cabell-Huntington Hospital, Huntington, West Virginia. He is survived by his wife, Argue Preston. Funeral services were conducted Sunday, July 7, under the direction of Inez Funeral Chapel.

June 24, 2002

Lawrence Mitchell Armstrong, 69, of Louisa, died Saturday, June 15, at VA Medical Center, Dayton, Ohio. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, June 19, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Magdalene Ferguson Ball, 78, of Maryville, Tennessee, died Tuesday, June 11. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, June 15, under the direction of Heston Funeral Home.

Raymond Bowen, 59, of Huntington, West Virginia, formerly of Inez, died Saturday, June 15, at St. Mary’s Hospital, Huntington. He is survived by his wife, Judy Bowen. Funeral services were conducted Monday, June 17, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

May Daniel, 66, of Lowmansville, died Monday, June 10, at Central Baptist Hospital, Lexington. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, June 15, under the direction of Jones-Preston Funeral Home.

Sandy Hammond, 34, of Inez, died Saturday, June 15, at Three Rivers Medical Center, Louisa. She is survived by her husband, David Hammond. Funeral services were conducted Tuesday, June 18, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

Earl Ray Johnson, 60, of Hi Hat, died Sunday, June 16, at his residence. He is survived by his wife, Marilyn Fisher Johnson. Funeral services were conducted Tuesday, June 18, under the direction of Hall Funeral Home.

Ethel Marcum, 75, of Louisa, died Monday, June 12, at J.J. Jordan Geriatric Center, Louisa. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, June 12, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

June 17, 2002

Mattie Theda Adkins, 43, native of Louisa, died Sunday, June 2, at J.J. Jordan Geriatric Center. Graveside services were conducted Tuesday, June 4, 3 p.m., at the Bartram Cemetery, Fort Gay, West Virginia.

Mary Destiny Paige Blackburn, two and one-half months old daughter of Patrick Blackburn and Darlene Maynard, died Saturday, June 1, at Three Rivers Medical Center Funeral services were conducted Tuesday, June 4, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

June 10, 2002

Mattie Theda Adkins, 43, of Fort Gay, West Virginia, died Sunday, June 2, at J.J. Jordan Geriatric Center, Louisa. Graveside services were conducted Tuesday, June 4, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

June 3, 2002

Virginia Kirk R. Pennington, 79, of Louisa, died Wednesday, May 15, at her residence. Funeral services were conducted Sunday, May 19, under the direction of Heston Funeral Home.

Homer P. Williams, 94, of Louisa, died Saturday, May 18, at Three Rivers Medical Center, Louisa. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, May 22, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

April 8, 2002

Ruby Webb Martin, 84, died Monday, March 25, at Three Rivers Medical Center, Louisa. Funeral services were conducted Friday, March 29, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home

April 1, 2002

Lizzie B. Hall, 93, of Louisa, died Sunday, March 17, at Three Rivers Medical Center. Funeral services were conducted Thursday, March 21, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

Telia Hensley, 87, Lawrence County native, died Wednesday, March 20, at Three Rivers Medical Center. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, March 23, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

March 25, 2002

Bobby Joe Bowen, 68, of Louisa, died Thursday, March 7, at Three Rivers Medical Center. He is survived by his wife, Barbara Bowen. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, March 9, under the direction of Richmond-Callaham Funeral Home.

Lillian Diamond, 99, Floyd County native, died Saturday, March 16, at J.J. Jordan Geriatric Center, Louisa. Funeral services were conducted Tuesday, March 19, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Luther Harmon, 39, native of Louisa, died Friday, March 8, at his Webbville residence. Funeral services were conducted Monday, March 10, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Arthur Blankenship Jr., 88, of Louisa, died Tuesday, March 12, at Three Rivers Medical Center, Louisa. Funeral services were conducted Friday, March 15, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

March 18, 2002

Joyce (Deanie) Adams, 62, of Ulysses, died Friday, February 22, at her residence. She is survived by her husband, Walter (Tom) Adams. Funeral services were conducted Sunday, February 24, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

William R. “Bill” Allen, 67, of Columbus, Ohio, formerly of Louisa, died Tuesday, February 19, at Grant Medical Center, Columbus. He is survived by his wife, Virginia Elizabeth Allen. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, February 23, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

Lawrence Edward Bowling, 75, of Flatwoods, died Sunday, February 17, at Our Lady of Bellefonte Hospital. Memorial services were conducted Wednesday, February 20, at Evans Funeral Home, Raceland. Burial with military services was in Preston Cemetery, Milo, under the direction of Evans Funeral Home.

Dorothy E. Evans, 76, of Louisa, died Friday, February 22, at Three Rivers Medical Center. Funeral services were conducted Monday, February 25, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

Sarah Ann Lee Jackson, 78, of Louisa, native of Pike County, died Wednesday, February 20, at Three Rivers Medical Center, Louisa. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, February 23, under the direction of Heston Funeral Home.

Frank Kiser, 80, of Zephyrhills, Florida, native of Carter, died Wednesday, February 20, at Hernando-Pasco Hospice Care Center. He is survived by his wife, Moncie O. Kiser. Funeral services were conducted Sunday, February 24, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

Grettie Jane Lyon, 96, of Blaine, died Saturday, February 23, at J. J. Jordan Geriatric Center. Funeral services were conducted Tuesday, February 26, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

Anita Preston Porter, 73, of Radnor, West Virginia, died Saturday, February 23, at J.J. Jordan Geriatric Center, Louisa. Funeral services were conducted Tuesday, February 26, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

March 11, 2002

Myrtle Marie Marcum, 74, of Louisa, died Monday, March 4, at King’s Daughters’ Medical Center, Ashland. Memorial services were conducted Wednesday, March 6, at the Wilson Funeral Home. Burial followed in the Greenlawn Cemetery. 

Anita Louise Jones Pritchard, 64, of Louisa, died Tuesday, February 25, at Garrett. She is survived by her husband, Douglas Pritchard. Funeral services were conducted Friday, March 1, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

James Millard Stepp, 47, of Louisa, died Tuesday, February 26, at Louisa. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, March 2, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

February 18, 2002

Lorraine Preece Liesegang, 75, of Beattyville, native of Louisa, died Tuesday, January 29, at her residence. She is survived by her husband, Bartlett G. Liesegang. Funeral services were conducted Friday, February 1, under the direction of Newman Funeral Home.

Curtis McCormick, 88, of Hilliard, Ohio, formerly of Lawrence County, died Friday, January 19, at Doctors Hospital West, Columbus, Ohio. A graveside service was conducted Tuesday, January 22, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

February 4, 2002

Curtis McCormick, 88, died Friday, January 18, at Doctors Hospital, Columbus, Ohio. Graveside services were conducted Tuesday, January 22, 1 p.m., at the McCormick Cemetery, Fallsburg. Arrangements were under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Ralph E. Salyers, 66, died Tuesday, January 22, at his Columbus, Ohio residence. He is survived by his wife, Carolyn Salyers. Graveside services were conducted Friday, January 25, at the Myrtle Chapel Cemetery, Louisa, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

January 28, 2002

O.B. Derifield, 79, died Wednesday, January 16, at King’s Daughters’ Medical Center, Ashland. He is survived by his wife, Martha Maynard Derifield. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, January 19, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Tella Montgomery LeMaster, 98, died Monday, January 14, at Highlands Regional Medical Center. Funeral services were conducted Thursday, January 17,under the direction of Preston Funeral Home.

Thomas Parker, 83, died Monday, January 14, at J.J. Jordan Geriatric Center, Louisa. Funeral services were conducted Friday, January 18, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Dosha L. Pilkenton, 63, died Tuesday, January 15. She is survived by her husband, Carl R. Pilkenton. Funeral services were conducted Friday, January 18, under the direction of Jackson Lytle & Ingling Williams Funeral Home, Springhill, Ohio.

January 21, 2002

Bernice Carter Jordan, 78, of Chapman, died Friday, December 28, at her residence. Funeral services were conducted under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Barbara Ann Frazier Moore, 65, of Louisa, died Saturday, December 29. Funeral services were conducted under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

Charles Robert Tarring II, 78, of Louisa, died Wednesday, Jan. 2, at VA Medical Center, Huntington, West Virginia. He is survived by his wife, Dianna Marie Williams Tarring. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, Jan. 5, under the direction of Jones-Preston Funeral Chapel.

Ann Ruth Raines Tucker, 67, of Ashland, native of Louisa, died Saturday, December 29. She is survived by her husband, Hubert L. Tucker. Young Funeral Home, Louisa, was in charge of arrangements.

Kay Frances Waller, 64, of Fort Gay, West Virginia, native of Louisa, died Jan. 3, at Three Rivers Medical Center. Graveside funeral services were conducted Sunday, Jan. 6, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

Lowell E. Wheeler, 70, of Blaine, died Thursday, December 27, at King’s Daughters’ Medical Center. Funeral services were conducted under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Jeffery Wayne Wilks, 18, of Webbville, died Tuesday, Jan. 8, at Cabell Huntington Hospital. Funeral services were conducted Friday, Jan. 11, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

January 14, 2002

Eugene Davis, 82, of Amherst, Ohio, formerly of Louisa, died Monday, December 31, at his residence. Funeral services were conducted Thursday, January 3, under the direction of Hempel Funeral Home.

Kay Frances Waller, 64, of Fort Gay, W. Va., native of Louisa, died Friday, January 4, at Three Rivers Medical Center, Louisa. Graveside funeral services were conducted Sunday, January 6, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

January 7, 2002

Claudia C. May, 90, of Blaine, died Sunday, December 16, at Mt. Manor Nursing Home. She is survived by her husband, Orville May. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, December 19, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

Nora G. Thompson, 88, of Groveport, Ohio, formerly of Lawrence County, died Tuesday, December 25, at her residence. Graveside services were conducted Saturday, December 28, at Yatesville Memorial Gardens, Louisa. Heston Funeral Home, was in charge of local arrangements.