Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Lawrence County Deaths 2003

Deaths in Eastern Kentucky
as reported in the Floyd County Times Dated

June 16,2003

Bill Little Jr., of Louisa, died Sunday, June 8, at J.J. Jordan Geriatrc Center. He is survived by his wife, Roxie Ham Little. Funeral services were conducted Tuesday, June 10, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Mark Aaron Maynard, infant son of Jesse and Sharline Hannah Maynard of Louisa, died Saturday, June 7, at Three Rivers Medical Center. Graveside services were conducted Monday, June 9, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

John Nolan Webb, 40, of Louisa, died Sunday, June 8. He is survived by his wife, Diana Wilks Webb. Funeral services were conducted Tuesday, June 10, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

June 9, 2003

Bruce Artrip, 44, of Castalia, Ohio, a native of Louisa, died Tuesday, May 20, at the Cleveland Clinic. He is survived by his wife, Georgia (Fields) Artrip. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, May 24, under the direction of Ransom Funeral Home.

James Clifford Burchett, 74, of Louisa, died Monday, June 2, at his residence. Funeral services were conducted Thursday, June 5, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

James Edward “Jed” Chapman, 51, of Louisa, died Saturday, May 31, at Three Rivers Medical Center. Funeral services were conducted Tuesday, June 3, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

Woodrow Farley, 75, of Louisa, died Wednesday, May 28, at King’s Daughters’ Medical Center, Ashland. He is survived by his wife, Amy Roop Farley. Funeral services were conducted Friday, May 30, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Judith Ann Roop Farley, 52, of Wittensville, died Thursday, May 29, in Fort Gay, West Virginia. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, May 31, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

Gladys Della Wellman Fugitt, 75, of Louisa, died Tuesday, June 3. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, June 4, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

Bennie David Hylton, 73, of Bryce, Ohio, (formerly of Lawrence County), died Sunday, May 25, at his residence. He is survived by his wife, Nellie Moore Hylton. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, May 28, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Kenneth Lambert, 49, of Louisa, died Sunday, May 25. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, May 31, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

Harry Andrew Young, 74, of Webbville, died Wednesday, May 28, at his residence. He is survived by his wife, Rebecca Adams Young. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, May 31, under the direction of Malone Funeral Home.

June 2, 2003

John Paul Clay, 70, of Louisa, died Friday, May 23, at J.J. Jordan Geriatric Center, Louisa. He is survived by his wife, Vernie W. Clay. Funeral services were conducted Monday, May 26, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

Elizabeth Mae Coffey, 93, of Fallsburg, died Friday, May 23, at Three Rivers Medical Center, Louisa. Funeral services were conducted Monday, May 23, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

Geneva Francis Conley, 87, of Webbville, a native of Magoffin County, died Friday, May 23, at Boyd Nursing and Rehab Center following an extended illness. Funeral services were conducted Tuesday, May 27, under the direction of Malone Funeral Home.

Woodrow Farley, 75, of Louisa, native of Pike County, died Wednesday, May 28, at the King’s Daughters’ Medical Center. He is survived by his wife, Amy Roop Farley. Funeral services were conducted Friday, May 30, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Carl Delmas Holbrook, 74, of Ashland, formerly of Louisa, died Wednesday, May 21, at Catlettsburg. He is survived by his wife, Juanita Manning Holbrook. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, May 24, under the direction of Heston Funeral Home.

Bennie David Hylton, 73, of Byrce, Ohio, formerly of Lawrence County, died Sunday, May 25, at his residence. He is survived by his wife, Nellie Moore Hylton. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, May 28, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Patrick J. Smith, 79, of Louisa, died Saturday, May 24. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, May 28, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

Sylvia Ellen Young, 75, of Louisa, died Tuesday, May 27, at J.J. Jordan Geriatric Center. Funeral services were conducted Thursday, May 29, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

March 17, 2003

Maude Ellen Hardwick, 79, Lawrence County native, died Friday, February 28, at Three Rivers Medical Center in Louisa. Funeral services were conducted Monday, March 3, were under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Herbert Hoover Hatfield, 74, died Sunday, March 2. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, March 5, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Jon Dee Jenkins, 54, of North Carolina, died Wednesday, March 5, at Three Rivers Medical Center, Louisa. He is survived by his wife, Jennifer Jenkins. Heston Funeral Home, Louisa, was in charge of arrangements.

James Thomas Lemaster, 70, of Louisa, died Friday, March 7. Funeral services were conducted Monday, March 10, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

Lula Curnutte May, 88, of Blaine, died Sunday, March 9, at Mt. Carmel West, Columbus, Ohio. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, March 12, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

Maxine Skaggs Porter, 75, a Lawrence County native, died Tuesday, March 4. Funeral services were conducted Friday, March 7, under the direction of Preston Funeral Home.

Francis Marie Pylant, 46, died Wednesday, February 26, at Livingston Regional Hospital. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, March 1, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Roberta Hayes VanHoose, 65, died Wednesday, February 26. She is survived by her husband, George W. VanHoose. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, March 1, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

March 3, 2003

Clyde Dempsey Boyd, 62, of Columbus, Ohio, formerly of Lawrence County, died Saturday, Feb. 22, at his residence. He is survived by his wife, Charlene Boyd. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, Feb. 26, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Edna O’Daniel Collinsworth, 87, of Melbourne, Florida, formerly of Lawrence County, died Tuesday, Feb. 18, at Wuesthoff Progressive Care Center, in Viera, Florida. Funeral services were conducted Monday, Feb. 24, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Mary Francis Yates Rice, 81, of Louisa, died Monday, Feb. 24, at Three Rivers Medical Center, Louisa. She is survived by her husband, Jack Alex Rice. Funeral services were conducted Thursday, Feb. 27, under the direction of Young Funeral Home.

North James West, 85, of Louisa, died Sunday, Feb. 23, at J.J. Jordan Geriatric Center, in Louisa. Funeral services were conducted Thursday, Feb. 27, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

February 24, 2003

Gertrude Daniels Hayes, 84, of Louisa, died Monday, Feb. 10, at her home. Funeral services were conducted Thursday, Feb. 13, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

James R. Marcum, 41, of Louisa, died Tuesday, Feb. 11, at U. of L. Hospital in Louisville. Funeral services were conducted Friday, Feb. 14, under the direction of Richmond-Callaham Funeral Home.

February 3, 2003

Lola Belle Blair, 91, died Friday, January 24, at Ridgeway Nursing and Rehabilitation Center in Owingsville. Graveside services were held Tuesday, January 28, at the Wells Family Cemetery in Paintsville. Arrangements were under the direction of Lane-Stucky-Gray Funeral Home.

Uyvonna Lynn Cantrell, 52, died Thursday, January 23, at King’s Daughters’ Hospital. She is survived by her husband, Eulas Paul Cantrell. Funeral services were conducted Sunday, January 26, under the direction of Preston Funeral Chapel.

Virginia Hayes Compton, 81, native of Lawrence County, died Monday, January 20, at home. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, January 25, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Linda Sue Preston Fain, 59, of Lexington, formerly of Lawrence County, died Monday, January 20, at Three Rivers Medical Center, in Louisa. Funeral services were conducted Friday, January 24, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Goldie Daniel Castle, 82, died Thursday, January 23, at Paul B. Hall Medical Center. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, Janaury 25, under the direction of Preston Funeral Chapel.

January 27, 2003

James David Lewis, 51, of Louisa, died Saturday, January 18, at Three Rivers Medical Center. He is survived by his wife, Audrey Jean Boyd Lewis. Funeral services were conducted Tuesday, January 21, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Freda Mae Manis, 54, died Thursday, January 16, at Murray Medical Center, in Georgia. She is survived by her husband, Michael Manis. Funeral services were conducted Monday, January 20, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Trudy Ann Triplett Spillman, 56, of Louisa, died Monday, January 13, at Three Rivers Medical Center. She is survived by her husband, Johnny Spillman. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, January 15, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.