Make your own free website on Tripod.com

 

Deaths in Eastern Kentucky
as reported in the Floyd County Times Dated

Martin County Deaths 2003

June 16, 2003

William Marion Mullett, 82, of Tomahawk, died Monday, June 9, at his residence. He is survived by his wife, Lucy Spears Mollett. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, June 11, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

June 9, 2003

Edgar Lovins, 79, of Columbus, Ohio, formerly of Martin County, died Tuesday, May 20. He is survived by his wife, Glendine Lovins. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, May 24, at Cook and Son-Palley Funeral Home, Columbus, Ohio.

Vadie H. Maynard, 72, of Pilgrim, died Saturday, May 31, at Highlands Regional Medical Center, Prestonsburg. Funeral services were conducted Tuesday, June 3, under the directon of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

Carl David Stafford, 42, of Tomahawk, died Sunday, June 1, at Highlands Regional Medical Center, Prestonsburg. He is survived by his wife, Connie Sue Stafford. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, June 4, under the direction of Richmond-Callaham Funeral Home.

June 2, 2003

Luther Alley, 51, of Warfield, died Friday, May 23, at his residence. He is survived by his wife, Rita Dingess Alley. Funeral services were conducted Monday, May 26, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

Martha Marie Dillon, 71, of Inez, died Tuesday, May 20, at her residence. Funeral services were conducted Thursday, May 22, under the direction of Inez Funeral Chapel.

Bradley David Goble, 24, of Debord, died Friday, May 23, at his residence. Funeral services were conducted Monday, May 26, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

Sadie Marie Miller, seven weeks old, daughter of David and Sherry Maynard Miller, of Warfield, died Wednesday, May 21, at Kosair Children’s Hospital in Louisville. Graveside services were conducted Sunday, May 24, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

Bennie Newsome, 65, of Knox, Indiana, a native of Lovely, died Wednesday, May 21. He is survived by his wife, Joan Collins Newsome. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, May 24, under the direction of the M.C. Smith Funeral Home,, Knox, Indiana.

James Filmore Sammons, 77, a native of Warfield, died Thursday, May 22, at Three Rivers Medical Center, Louisa. Graveside services were conducted Saturday, May 24, under the direction of Heston Funeral Home.

March 17, 2003

James Milton Copley, 65, native of Martin County, died Sunday, March 2, at Hazard Nursing Home. Funeral services were conducted Thursday, March 6, under the direction of Jones-Preston Funeral Chapel.

Mary Duncan, 97, of Debord, died Sunday, March 9, at Three Rivers Medical Center, Louisa. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, March 12, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

Paul Richard Evans, 19, of Lovely, died Tuesday, March 4, at his home. Funeral services were conducted Friday, March 7, under the direction of Richmond-Callaham Funeral Home.

Debra Jean Hale, 40, of Warfield, died Thursday, March 6, at Maher, West Virginia. She is survived by her husband, James Hale. Funeral services were conducted Sunday, March 9, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

Ada Sue Cornette Registar, 63, of Inez, died Friday, March 7, at King’s Daughters’ Medical Center in Ashland. Funeral services were conducted Monday, March 10, under the direction of Richmond-Callaham Funeral Home.

March 3, 2003

Ira Blaine Goble, 85, of Inez, died Thursday, February 20, at Three Rivers Medical Center, Louisa. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, Feb. 22, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

William McKinley Hickman, 68, of Beauty, died Thursday, Feb. 20, at Highlands Regional Medical Center. He is survived by his wife, Nellie Moore Hickman. Funeral services were conducted Sunday, Feb. 23, under the direction of Richmond-Callaham Funeral Home.

Glenn Richard Meade, 43, of Inez, a native of Johnson County, died Sunday, Feb. 23, at Southern Ohio Medical Center. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, Feb. 26, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

Bobbie Ruth Mollette, 65, of Tomahawk, died Thursday, Feb. 20, at Three Rivers Medical Center, Louisa. Funeral services were conducted Sunday, Feb. 23, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

Robert J. Preston, 64, of Inez, died Saturday, Feb. 22, at Cabell Huntington Hospital, in Huntington, West Virginia. Funeral services were conducted Monday, Feb. 24, under the direction of Richmond-Callaham Funeral Home.

Tracy Lynn Wallace, 34, of Martin County, a native of Lawrence County, died Monday, Feb. 24, at her residence. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, Feb. 26, under the direction of Wilson Funeral Home.

Sidney Workman, 65, of Warfield, died Wednesday, Feb. 26, at Mingo Manor Nursing Home. He is survived by his wife, Lillian Workman. Funeral services were conducted Friday, Feb. 28, under the direction of Richmond-Callaham Funeral Home.

February 24, 2003

James Roland Johnson, 72, of Inez, died Tuesday, Feb. 11, at home. He is survived by his wife, Irene Johnson. Funeral services were conducted Friday, February 14, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

Ethel Jude, 57, of Pilgrim, died Monday, February 17, at her residence. Funeral services were conducted Thursday, Feb. 20, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

Arnold Mollette, 90, a Martin County native, died Tuesday, Feb. 11, at J.J. Jordan Geriatric Center in Louisa. Funeral services were conducted Friday, Feb. 14, under the direction of Preston Funeral Home.

Barbara Porter, 61, of Inez, died Wednesday, Feb. 23, at her residence. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, Feb.15, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

Randall Ratlifff, 50, of Grove City, Ohio, formerly of Inez, died Wednesday, Feb. 12, at Grove City. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, Feb. 15, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

Ruby Ellen Kirk Stepp, 79, of Nashville, Tennessee, a Martin County native, died at her home on Friday, Feb. 14. Funeral services were conducted Tuesday, Feb. 18, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

February 3, 2003

Toney Adkins, 54, of Sidney, native of Martin County, died Sunday, January 26, at Charleston, West Virginia. He is survived by his wife, Faye Spears Adkins. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, January 29, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

James E. Boggs, 69, of Ulysses, died Sunday, January 19, at Three Rivers Medical Center. He is survived by his wife, Wilda Horn Boggs. Funeral services were conducted Thursday, January 23, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

Goldie Daniel Castle, 82, of River, died Thursday, January 23, at Paul B. Hall Medical Center, Paintsville. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, January 25, under the direction of Preston Funeral Home.

Roy Mitchel (Dooner) Collier Jr., 46, of Beauty, died Tuesday, January 21, at his residence. He is survived by his wife, Stephanie Moore Collier. Funeral services were conducted Friday, January 24, under the direction of Warfield Funeral Chapel.

George (Eddie) Edward Kirk, 50, died Sunday, January 19. Funeral services were conducted Friday, January 24, under the direction of Richmond-Callaham Funeral Home.

James D. McKinney, 47, of Inez, died Sunday, January 26, at his residence. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, January 29, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

January 27, 2003

Thomas Hershel Fletcher, 70, of Inez, died Friday, January 17, at home. He is survived by his wife, Dixie Fletcher. Funeral services were conducted Monday, January 20, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

January 13, 2003

James Connors, 63, of Inez, died Monday, December 30, at Three Rivers Medical Center, Louisa. Funeral services were conducted Wednesday, January 1, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

Elsie Fletcher, 85, of Warfield, died Sunday, January 5, at Three Rivers Medical Center, Louisa. Funeral services were conducted Thursday, January 9, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

John C. Hinkle Jr., 84, of Inez, died Friday, January 3, at Three Rivers Medical Center. Funeral services were conductted Monday, January 6, under the direction of Inez Funeral Chapel.

Lou Ann Montgomery, 67, of Inez, died Wednesday, December 11, at the home of her daughter. Funeral services were conducted Friday, December 13, under the direction of Richmond-Callaham Funeral Home.

John Henry Muncy, 41, of Louisa, formerly of Pilgrim, died Tuesday, December 31, at Fort Gay, West Virginia. Funeral services were conducted Friday, January 3, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

Lowell (Tom) Stepp, 59, of Inez, died Saturday, January 4, at Highlands Regional Medical Center. He is survived by his wife, Matilda Sartin Stepp. Funeral services were conducted Tuesday, January 7, under the direction of Phelps and Son Funeral Home.

Susie Stroud, 98, of Crum, West Virginia, died Wednesday, January 1, at Martin County Health Care Facility. Funeral services were conducted Saturday, January 4, under the direction of Richmond-Callaham Funeral Home.

Ernestine Margaret Ward, 84, of Inez, died Friday, January 3, at Martin County Nursing Home Facility, Inez. Funeral services were conducted Sunday, January 5, under the direction of Richmond-Callaham Funeral Home.